Here’s a sneak peek at just a few of the homes you’ll see on the 2016 Home Tour!
Poster Home – The Spencer Shattuck House
The Spencer Shattuck home was built in 1928 by Phelps Dodge as one of the last major houses on Vista Park. Colonial Revival (multiple-paned upper window and front door sidelights) best describes the style of this classic Arts and Crafts home. One of its most distinctive features is the massive Doric style columns which support the front porch and porte cochere. This pergola style porch with its distinctive tenons makes a showy entrance into the home. The living room is dominated by a massive marble fronted fireplace done in 1920’s art deco style and adorned by wedding cake style light fixtures. The library has an equally striking arts and crafts tiled fireplace. Original 1920’s fixtures, including a solid porcelain tub, are still retained in the primary bath. An addition was made to the house in the 1930’s and more recently a deck overlooking a koi pond on the lower patio. Spencer Shattuck was the first and longest term occupant of the home. Spencer is important in the history of Bisbee as an entrepreneur, banker and rancher. After his death in 1960, his widow lived in the home for another 20 years. The present owners are the fourth to live in the home having purchased it in 2003.
The Fourth of July House
This charming home, with its lovely front garden and Victorian-style details, was built in 1915, two years before the Bisbee Deportation in 1917.Imagine what was witnessed the day the miners were marched in front of the house to be loaded in cattle cars and sent to New Mexico! When current owners purchased the home in February 2003, the home was complete and somewhat true to time period. It was wired with Knob and Tube wiring and later updated to more modern wiring (2wire with no ground) in the 40s or 50s. Since 2003, the plumbing, electrical, HVAC, windows and a basement have been updated and completed. There is a home theater downstairs along with bedroom, office and a work out room. The home is located on the July 4 parade route – which is an important Bisbee tradition – and the fireworks are visible from the front yard.
John Mason Ross House
This home was built between 1911 and 1914, during the Warren Town Site’s first Building Slump. John Ross was a lawyer who with his partner E.E. Ellinwood served as general counsel for the Phelps Dodge Corporation. Visiting Phelps Dodge executives used to stay here – and even play tennis on the tennis court that was built next to the house, which is now a vacant lot. This house is a good example of a California Bungalow Style, built of rusticated concrete blocks, an intersecting hip with gabled ridge copper roof with eaves of exposed rafters with fascia board. In 1957, the house was purchased by the Tuxhorn family and then by the current owners in 2015. The house has some unique features such as a pie safe and a large basement, which once had a boiler, which was used for heating.
What a special treat for those on the 2016 Home Tour! Ballpark docents will be on site to tell you even more about the Ballpark’s historical and architectural wonders. Below is just a taste.
Warren Ballpark is believed to be the oldest multi-use sports facility in the U.S. It was constructed in June 1909 by the Warren Company, a subsidiary of the Calumet & Arizona Mining Company. The original grandstands, constructed from lumber at a cost of $3,600, seated 1,500 spectators. There were no lights and the field was bare earth. In its earliest years, the ballpark was used for baseball, football, soccer, rugby and cricket. It was also used for rodeos, Wild West shows, circuses, prize fights, wrestling matches and for showing blockbuster silent films too long to be shown in theaters. In 1917, the ballpark served as the holding facility for 2,000 striking miners rounded up at gunpoint during the Bisbee Deportation. From the 1920s through 1955 it was the venue for outlaw baseball teams, including major league players banned for fixing games, three minor league teams and six barnstorming major league teams. To date, 17 inductees to the Baseball Hall of Fame are known to have participated in baseball at Warren Ballpark. In 1936, Phelps Dodge sold the ballpark to the School District for $10. A new facility designed by Louis H. Laging was built by the WPA in 1936-7. The ballpark continues to be used year round, by the championship Bisbee Puma baseball and football teams, summer professional baseball, high school graduation and other events. It is truly a national treasure. (Photo courtesy of Steve Pauken)
Below are samples of homes from previous Tours…
The Bisbee Brothel House
This house was built in 1906 when Brewery Gulch was the location of many establishments which provided R&R for the miners. Two original rooms remain, which were brothel ‘cribs’ where the ladies worked. Several sets of steps in the retaining wall adjacent to the house indicate access points to additional brothel cribs which have been lost to the ravages of time. On the living room wall is a photo of the street as it looked when these rooms were intact. Each room had its own entrance from the street, offering privacy and possibly anonymity to the customers. Another unusual feature of the house is the incorporation of the rocky hillside behind as the interior back wall of the house, which can truly be described as ‘earthy’.
First United Methodist Church
In the summer of 1888, the first Methodist Episcopal Church (“First Church”) was founded in Bisbee. By 1895, there was a congregation of 45 and a full-time minister. In 1900, the present lot was purchased and construction of Bisbee’s first Protestant church began. The building was constructed by Church members-at night, mostly by the light of their carbide lamps- at a total cost of $700.
The Bisbee Adobe
This charmer was the last adobe built in Bisbee, circa 1905, with a historical designation. All sorts of wonderful details are packed into its 901 square feet: high ceilings, mirrored walls in bath and living room, full dining area that seats eight, and the den has a view of the backyard garden.
Sample Homes 2014
Below are just a few of the distinctive homes that were featured in the 32nd edition of the Bisbee Home Tour on November 28 and 29, 2014.
Our 2014 Poster House – The Clarence M. Lynn House
The home still has the original front door, “floating glass” windows and copper door knobs and hardware.
In the 1970’s, the house was renovated to include an art deco soaking tub, a second bathroom and a sewing room. At that time, the house was owned by Mrs. Irma Courteol, who owned the premiere women’s and children’s clothing store in Bisbee.
The extensive garden was established by June Peterson in the 1980’s and has been lovingly cared for by the current owners, Don and Irene Newlon. Don and Irene also created Bisbeeritaville, an outdoor bar and party area with a Key West theme. Their creativity is apparent in all the delightful works of art and individual touches throughout the home.
Classic Bisbee Miner’s Home
This pretty ranch style home has been lovingly restored by James Ridenour and Barbara Bruno, who purchased the house in 1999.
The house was first built in 1903 as a one room miner’s shack, complete with outhouse and chicken coop. Several owners, including the Benham and Baugh families, owned and made additions to the house between 1920 and the present.
The current owner has made additional renovations including a new kitchen and a separate screened room for more outdoor living.
Built in 1919, Camp Naco was part of a “human fence” that stretched over 1,000 miles along the International Border. The Army assigned African American soldiers—Buffalo Soldiers—to the camp, which was decommissioned in early 1924.
In 2006, the Town of Huachuca City purchased Camp Naco for $10.00 in order to protect it. It was suffering from neglect and arson, and its roof tiles, installed in 1919, contained asbestos. Things looked bleak, but the camp had a protective owner and advocates from the Naco Heritage Alliance and Archaeology Southwest. Arson fire severely harmed four non-commissioned officer’s quarters in 2006. Recently, a large EPA Brownfields grant to remove all of the asbestos roof tiles was completed. Ten of the original 24 adobe buildings are stabilized and protected with new roofing that should last at least a decade.
You will be able to tour this historic site, as well as the house below, which is one of the original structures that has been updated and is currently lived in. We hope you’ll enjoy this very special opportunity.
The Bisbee Woman’s Club
This charming building, built in 1902 and listed on the National Register of Historic places, has been home to the Bisbee Woman’s Club for over 112 years. What began in 1899 as a Reading Club was reorganized a year later as the Bisbee Woman’s Club for “social and intellectual advancement” of its members.
Within a few months, the Club expanded to include community service. Early Club members built a horse trough below the courthouse, helped equip schools, and petitioned the City to build sidewalks on Main Street. They also marched downtown with mops and brooms to clean the jail!
Today, the Bisbee Woman’s Club is involved in many community projects, including our popular “For the Love of Music” program, which brings classical musicians from around the world to perform from October to May. The Home Tour is our largest fundraising project, which allows us to provide donations to local art, education and social services non-profits and give scholarships to Bisbee High School senior girls.
During this year’s tour, the Woman’s Club will house the Art Chair Auction, which you won’t want to miss. So please stop by, take a bathroom break, and bid on a chair or other unique creation for your home. Thanks for your participation.